Klaxons: “We want to blow peoples’ minds”

klaxonsWhen Klaxons made their return to the UK festival stage at The Great Escape last month, almost half of their 11-song set was made up of new material. The new songs – ‘Children Of The Sun’, which shares a name with the play by Maxim Gorky, ‘Invisible Forces’, ‘Love Frequency’, ‘Rhythm Of Life’ and ‘New Reality’ – are all expected to appear on the London band’s third album and retain their urgent, irresistibly danceable sound. The as-yet-untitled record could well be released this year, three years after 2010’s ‘Surfing The Void’. Having picked up 2007’s Mercury Prize for debut album and defining artefact of the new rave scene, ‘Myths of the Near Future’, the disappointing reaction to its follow-up record now puts Klaxons in the difficult position of being dismissed by some as a band who’ve already had their time in the sun. Early reports on the new album suggest they’re going all-out to right that wrong, with DJ Erol Alkan and Tom Rowlands of The Chemical Brothers on production duties, plus input from LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy. We sat down with the band to find out more on their new ventures…

Full piece in NME, 8 June 2013.